IHS “Liberty & Society”

June 14, 2008

Just got back from Wake Forrest University where I spent a week on intense interdisciplinary study, conversation, drinking, and excessive cigarette smoking. If you are a college student, or recent graduate (and are at all interested in liberty) and have not been to any of the Institute for Humane Studies’ seminars I encourage you to apply next seminar.

I attended “Liberty & Society” after being recommended by Bureaucrash’s Crasher in Chief Pete Eyre, and am deeply in his debt because of this. I was excited before arriving, and had high expectations, but was unprepared for how bad ass it actually was. The IHS Staff is wonderful, helpful, and particpates in conversation as your equal, the professor will really challenge the way you look at the world around you, and even the way you learned history. No matter how odd your views may be, you find others you have tons in common with, or those who fundamental life view are very different that become close allies (A smut peddling Atheist working hand in hand with A Catholic, A Mormon, and a Lutheran to promote Anarchy and Capitalism!)

Where can you study the benefits of Child Labor and Prostitution and the evils of fair trade coffee and the social contract? Where can the people doing a session on the ‘Moral Superiority of Communism’ vote for the AnarchoCaptialist presentation, and the AnCaps NOT vote for themselves, even with prize money on the line!!

I made some great friends, a few who I think I will actually see again, and some I will hold deal to me for a very long time. I will have a very few pictures soon.

One Response to “IHS “Liberty & Society””

  1. Pete Says:

    glad you had such a great experience xaq! the seminar’s can be life-changing events for people. after my first seminar in 2006 I got tearey-eyed at the end because it hit me that it was such an awesome experience and I’d met so many good folks. hopefully continued interaction between you and IHS is in the cards


Leave a comment